Official Website of the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribe

Southampton County, VA


Join us for our
32nd Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Corn Harvest Powwow & School Day

School Day Letter and Agenda
Vendor Contract
Dancer Registration

2023 Calendars

$20 plus $5 shipping per calendar.

Calendars can be paid for via PayPal or Zell or mail in check or money order made payable to the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribal Heritage Foundation,  Inc., P.O. Box 297 Franklin, ViA 23851.

Contact Chief Brown or Karen Barrett.  


As our tribe’s spokesperson “Dar-sun-ke” (the Tongue), and Chief, it is with great zeal on behalf of the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribal Council and Members, that we welcome you in the name of the Creator (Quaker-Hun-te) to our Tribal Web Site.

Each year we host three tribal events on our 263 acres of tribal land at Cattashowrock Town. A Green Corn Dance Powwow the first Saturday in July, a Native American Revival, Crusade for Christ / Yahshua, the Great Awakening of the Holy Spirit, on the third Saturday in September and an Intertribal Corn Harvest Powwow and School Day on the first weekend in November. The School Day is the Friday before the November Powwow with a bonfire that evening.

“Quaker Hun-te EE Sun-ke Was-ke-hee, Th-ra-hun-ta, Was-we-kr “
(Creator My Hearts Sees, Hears and Speaks).

Chief Walt “Red Hawk” Brown, “Teerheer”     Mark of the Chief 

Visit Cattashowrock Town

Visit Cattashowrock Town, a 17th Century replica Native American Palisade Village, as identified by William Byrd II of Westover upon his visit to what is now Southampton County, Virginia on April 7th & 8th, 1728 and walk the interpretative trails guided by signage in our Iroquoian language and in English identifying Native Flora and Fauna indigenous to the area.

Tribal Council

Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribe
Current Tribal Council Members and Staff

Tribal Chief/Council Chairman/President CNE-LLC/Heritage Foundation Chairman/ President CNE-Signature JV ,LLCChief Walt “Red Hawk” Brown
Vice Chief/ Chief Man/Tribal TreasureEllis “Soaring Eagle” Wright
War Chief/Chief Man/Powwow Color Guard CommanderWilliam Lamb “Spread Eagle Howell
Council Woman/ Vice Chief for Admin/Tribal Secretary/Roll Keeper/Face Book Administrator/ Grant Committee/CNE-LLC Secretary/CNE-Signature JV ,LLC SecretaryCaroh “Water Blossom” Holley
Chief Man/ Tribal Council/Grant Committee Chairman/ Powwow Food Services Chair/ CNE-LLC Board MemberGary “Twin Hawks” Burnette
Chief Man/ Council Member/Heritage Foundation Assistant Treasure/CNE-LLC TreasurerTommy “Star Watcher” Hines
Tribal Heritage Foundation TreasurerKitty “Yellow Sky Woman” Boone
Chief Man/Assistant Powwow Co Chair Administrator/Tribal Land Maintenance ManagerRickie “Two Beavers” Boone
Council Member/ Foundation Board of Director/Grant Committee Vice ChairSonya “Star Bird” Lawrence
Adopted Tribal Member/Heritage Foundation At Large Board Member/FD Financial Secretary/ASV Point of Contact   Teresa “Moon Star” Preston
Powwow Food Services CommitteeAlex “Strong Moon” Whitney
Tribal Women’s Group LeaderVacant

Tribal Council’s  Support Staff

Chief Man/Tribal Website Administrator and Heritage Foundation Website AdministratorMichael “Strong Tree” Skipper
Assistant Tribal Website AdministratorDeborah “Tiger Lily” Motahari
Educational Representative/School Day Coordinator/Tribal Media Rep/Tribal Calendar Karen “Running Moon” Barrett
Tribal Fund Raiser Chairperson/CoordinatorMary F. “Morning Rain” Wilkerson
Tribal Book Scholarship ChairpersonBeverly “Barefoot” El
Three Sisters Garden Chair/ Powwow Food Services Committee/Adopted Tribal Member/Grant CommitteeColette “CoCo” Hayward
Powwow Food Services Committee/Adopted Tribal MemberMary “White Feather”  Ross